English County Championship Returns To Two-Division Format

Warwickshire had gained the County Championship in 2021.© Instagram

The English County Championship will return to a two-division construction from subsequent season after two coronavirus-affected campaigns, the England and Wales Cricket Board introduced on Thursday. The Bob Willis Trophy was launched in 2020 and a three-group construction used for this 12 months’s first-class competitors. Subsequent 12 months, 10 groups will play in division one and eight groups in division two, with a two-up, two-down promotion-and-relegation system.

Every county will likely be positioned into the division they might have been set to compete in had the 2020 County Championship taken place.

Lancashire, Northamptonshire and Gloucestershire gained promotion to Division One and Nottinghamshire had been relegated to Division Two.

The return to 2 divisions, with every staff taking part in 14 matches, was voted by means of by the first-class counties.


Division One: Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Surrey, Warwickshire, Yorkshire

Division Two: Derbyshire, Durham, Glamorgan, Leicestershire, Middlesex, Nottinghamshire, Sussex, Worcestershire

Subjects talked about on this article

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button