M Venkaiah Naidu announces retirement of 11 Rajya Sabha members


NEW DELHI: Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu on Wednesday introduced the names of 11 members who shall be retiring from the Higher Home after finishing their time period in November, this yr.

“Right now, we bid farewell to a few of our colleagues from the state of Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand specifically Dr Chhatrapal Singh Yadav, Javed Ali Khan, PL Punia, Ravi Prakash Verma, Raja Ram, Ram Gopal Yadav, Veer Singh, Hardeep Singh Puri, Neeraj Shekhar, Arun Singh and Raj Babbar who could be retiring within the month of November,” Naidu mentioned in Rajya Sabha.

“Whereas retirement marks the completion of the phrases of Rajya Sabha members, it additionally infuses in them a way of success and contentment of getting to serve the individuals of this nation. The retiring members have contributed considerably to this home. They’ve devoted to the reason for democracy. Although many would come re-elected those that wouldn’t, the home will miss them,” he added.

Naidu mentioned that the retiring members will proceed to serve the reason for the individuals and strengthen democracy.

“They’ve retired however not drained. They may proceed to serve the individuals and can deal with the reason for individuals. I want them good well being and happiness and lots of extra years of service to the nation. I hope that they are going to strengthen democracy by serving the reason for individuals,” he mentioned.

Every member of the Rajya Sabha is elected for a time period of six years. One-third of the members retire each second yr and contemporary elections are held to elect new members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here