T20 World Cup 2021: Bangladesh start as favourites to qualify for Super 12 from Group B

Picture Supply : GETTY IMAGES

T20 World Cup 2021: Bangladesh begin as favourites to qualify for Tremendous 12 from Group B

Having accomplished sufficient over time to shed the underdogs tag, in-form Bangladesh will begin as favourites in Group B within the qualifying spherical as they open their T20 World Cup marketing campaign in opposition to Scotland right here on Sunday.

Bangladesh have been drawn alongside Scotland, Oman and Papua New Guinea within the first spherical and going by current kind, they’re anticipated to high the group and qualify for the Tremendous 12 stage.

Bangladesh are coming into the event with 9 T20I wins within the calendar 12 months, solely behind South Africa who’ve 12.

In actual fact, since shedding to New Zealand in March away from residence, Bangladesh have registered collection wins over Zimbabwe (2-1), Australia (4-1) and New Zealand (3-2). And in the event that they handle to qualify, Bangladesh will be a part of India,

Afghanistan, New Zealand, Pakistan and the Group topper within the Tremendous 12 and that must be incentive sufficient for Bangladesh.

The T20 World Cup has not been a contented looking floor for Bangladesh. After their success within the inaugural version in 2007, once they made it to Tremendous 8s, the Tigers have did not register a single win within the 2009, 2010 and 2012 editions.

Bangladesh returned to profitable methods in 2014 when the occasion was expanded to 16 groups, topping Group A within the first spherical solely to lose all 4 matches within the Tremendous 10 stage.

It was an identical story in 2016, the place they crashed out in heartbreak after a devastating loss to India.

However Bangladesh have struck kind simply on the proper time and justifiably sit sixth on the MRF Tyres ICC T20I crew rankings, forward of the likes of Australia, West Indies and Afghanistan.

Their collection wins over Australia and New Zealand this 12 months — their maiden collection wins over both nation — are testomony to how effectively they’re enjoying in 2021.

With a mixture of expertise and youth within the aspect, Bangladesh have all of the components to go deep into the event.

Skipper Mahmudullah is a seasoned campaigner, whereas the likes of all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, coming off some good performances for KKR within the just-concluded IPL, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar and pacer Mustafizur Rahman are the important thing gamers for Bangladesh.

Within the absence skilled opening batter Tamim Iqbal, who made himself unavailable for choice, the onus can be on the likes of Liton Das, Naim Sheikh, Shakib, Mushfiqur and and the captain himself to take the cost of the batting unit.

Mustafizur will lead the bowling assault that additionally has Shamim Hossain, Shoriful Islam and spinner Nasum Ahmed aside from Shakib.

Mahmudullah’s males shall be anticipated to shrug off the loss to Eire within the warm-up sport on October 14 and carry out constantly to high the group.

Scotland, however, can be that includes within the T20 World Cup for a fourth time.

Scotland captain Kyle Coetzer shall be anticipating George Munsey, who has been in good type of late, to be at his finest.

Coetzer, Calum MacLeod and Richie Berrington, who hit 82 in a victory over Zimbabwe in September, will present assist within the batting division, being suggested mentored by former England batter Jonathan Trott.

The bowling unit will see Brad Wheal and Josh Davey — who took 30 wickets between them for Hampshire and Somerset respectively — mix collectively and add weight to the seam assault being led by Safyaan Sharif.

A win over Namibia within the warm-up fixture ought to give Scotland confidence as they appear to enter the principle spherical of an ICC occasion for the primary time.

Groups (from):

Bangladesh: Mahmudullah (C), Liton Das, Mohammed Naim, Mahedi Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nurul Hasan (WK), Afif Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Shamim Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammed Saifuddin.

Scotland: Kyle Coetzer (C), Richard Berrington, Dylan Budge, Matthew Cross (WK), Josh Davey, Ally Evans, Chris Greaves, Michael Leask, Calum Macleod, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Hamza Tahir, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt, Brad Wheal.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *