Friday, September 24, 2021
HomeSportsUnseeded Akshaya storms into quarterfinals, stuns 6th seed Sanika Choudhari

Unseeded Akshaya storms into quarterfinals, stuns 6th seed Sanika Choudhari

Metropolis woman Akshaya Sri posted one of many greatest wins in her profession when she shocked sixth seed Sanika Choudhari of Maharashtra 11-8, 2-11, 8-11, 5-11 within the second spherical to enter the quarterfinals of the Skilled Squash Affiliation (PSA) Challenger Tour-10 squash which started at Indian Squash Academy in Chennai from Monday.

Within the first spherical, Akshaya, a twelfth normal scholar, conceded the primary sport however rallied to defeat 9-16 seed Radhika Rathore of Daly School, Indore 7-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-2. She is the one unseeded participant to enter the last-eight stage.

High seeds Sunayna Kuruvilla, Tanvi Khanna, Sachika Balvani, Aparajitha Balamurukan, Urwashi Joshi, Janet Vidhi and Abhisheka Shannon took the appointed place with out a lot fuss. Nevertheless, the fifth seed Urwashi of Mumbai was stretched by Rathika Suthanthira Seelan, one other metropolis woman, 5-11, 11-4, 11-5, 4-11, 10-12 which took 43 minutes.

“I’m feeling higher and higher. All of us misplaced one full season and extra,” Akshaya informed after her matches. “I by no means take any stress throughout my matches. I attempt to get pleasure from my outings however I’m very assured and focussed. For the primary time, all of us started on equal footing. I’m going through all my rivals for the primary time and I’ll be going through third seed Sachika Balvani within the quarterfinals additionally for the primary time. Tomorrow I’ll try to play my stage finest,” mentioned the scholar of Ewarts Matriculation, Chennai.

Within the males’s class, Abhay Singh, world No.116, has been seeded No. 1, adopted by former nationwide champion Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu, Aadit Zaveri, Abhishek Agarwal and Velavan Senthilkumar. Other than the highest 5 seeds, Abhishek Pradhan, Rounak Yadav too have acquired first-round byes.

There have been no surprises within the males’s class aside from a minor upset when wild card entrant Kanhav Nanavati outplayed Rounak Yadav 12-10, 11-8, 11-6 within the second spherical to enter quarters.

The Challenger 10 stage occasion, for each women and men, is restricted to home gamers as a result of Covid-19 pandemic and gives prize cash of $12,000.

Other than the Chennai leg of the Challenger Tour, PSA is organising ‘home’ occasions at Surrey, England (TWC Squash Squared Open & restricted for gamers within the UK), Cairo Worldwide Stadium (CIB Egyptian Challenger Tour), Pink Energy in Stuttgart, Germany (Schraglage Squash Open, open to gamers in Europe) and at Islamabad, Pakistan (PSF-COMBAXX Sports activities Squash Championship).

Gamers from Nepal, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have been eligible however none gave entry.


Quarterfinal lineup: 2-Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu vs 5-Velavan Senthilkumar, Kanhav Nanavati bs

4-Abhishek Agarwal, 3-Aadit Zaveri vs 7-Rahul Baitha & 6-Abhishek Pradhan vs 1-Abhay Singh


Spherical 2: 2-Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu bt Jaideep Sethi 11-8, 4-11, 11-6, 10-12, 12-10, (WC) Kanhav Nanavati bt 8-Rounak Yadav 12-10, 11-8, 11-6; 5-Velavan Senthilkumar bt Tarun Mammen 11-2, 11-4, 11-6; 4-Abhishek Agarwal bt Jamal Sakib 11-9, 11-6, 11-8, 6-Abhishek Pradhan bt Mohit Bhatt 11-7, 11-9, 11-8; 3-Aadit Zaveri bt Yuvraj Wadhwani 11-9, 11-4, 11-5; Navaneeth Prabhu misplaced to 1-Abhay Singh 12-10, 15-13, 11-6, 7-Rahul Baitha bt [WC] Suraj Chand 11-4, 8-11, 11-5, 2-11, 11-8

Spherical 1: [WC] Yuvraj Wadhwani bt (9/16) Ravi Dixit 11-6, 8-11, 11-6, 11-2; Mohit Bhatt bt Sumer Singh Ahluwalia 11-4, 11-6, 11-0; [WC] Kanhav Nanavati bt (9/16) Ranvijay Singh 9/11, 11-5, 11-8, 11-6; (9-16) Tarun Mammen bt (9/16) Raju Shingava 9/11, 11-9, 11-3, 11-1; (9-16) Jaideep Sethi bt Rishit Dunga 11-7, 11-7, 11-2; [WC] Navaneeth Prabhu bt Vaibhav Chauhan 11-5, 11-4, 11- 3; (9/16) Jamal Sakib bt (9/16) Naresh Shingva 11-3, 11-5, 11-2; [WC] Suraj Chand bt R Sreekartikeyan 11-4, 11-7, 11-2;


Quarterfinal lineup (all matches in glass courtroom from 10 am): 1-Sunayna Kuruvilla vs 5-Urwashi Joshi, Akshaya Sri vs 3-Sachika Balvani, 4-Aparajitha Balamurukan vs 8-Abhisheka Shannon & 7-Janet Vidhi vs 2-Tanvi Khanna


Rd 2: 1-Sunayna bt Shameena Riaz 11-3, 11-4, 11-3; 6-Sanika Choudhari misplaced to Akshaya Sri 11-8, 2-11, 8-11, 5-11; Rathika Suthanthira Seelan misplaced to 5-Urwashi 5-11, 11-4, 11-5, 4-11, 10-12; 4-Aparajitha bt Navya Gupta 11-2, 11-4, 11-3; 7-Janet bt Sunita Patel 11-6, 11-9, 2-11, 11-5; 3-Sachika bt (9-16) Aaradhana Kasturiraj 11-6, 11-2, 11-1; 2-Tanvi bt Pooja Arthi R 11-4, 11-7, 11-5; 8-Abhisheka bt Anjali Semwal 12-10, 12-10, 11-9 (28m);

Rd 1: Shameena bt (9-16) Saniya Jaggi 11-8, 7-2 retired; Sunita bt (9/16) Aishwaria Payyan 11-0, 11-6, 11-8; (9-16) Aaradhana bt [WC] Ananya Narayanan 11-9, 11-1, 11-3; Pooja Arthi R bt [WC] Mithali Surana 11-8, 11-8, 11-5; Akshaya Sri bt (9-16) Radhika Rathore 7-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-2; Anjali bt (9/16) Skandha Dogra 11-8, 11-5, 11-9; Navya bt (9/16) Tiana Parasrampuria 13-11, 4-11, 0-11, 13-11, 11-6.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular