Friday, December 9, 2022
HomePoliticsWhich EU politicians refused to label Russia a sponsor of terror? |...

Which EU politicians refused to label Russia a sponsor of terror? | Russia-Ukraine war News

Which EU politicians refused to label Russia a sponsor of terror? | Russia-Ukraine conflict news

Many on the far proper and a few on the left rejected the symbolic transfer to declare Moscow as a terrorist regime.

The European Parliament on Wednesday adopted a decision declaring Russia a state “sponsor of terrorism” over its conflict in Ukraine.

“The deliberate attacks and atrocities committed by Russian forces and their proxies against civilians in Ukraine, the destruction of civilian infrastructure and other serious violations of international and humanitarian law amount to acts of terror and constitute war crimes,” the European Parliament stated.

In whole, 494 members of the European Parliament (MEPS) voted in favour of the decision, 58 had been towards and 44 abstained.″ alt=”INTERACTIVE-EP vote on Russia state sponsor terrorism” data-recalc-dims=”1″/>

The largely symbolic transfer is unlikely to make an impression, as a result of the European Union – in contrast to the US – doesn’t have the authorized framework to designate nations. Throughout the Atlantic, on the US checklist are North Korea, Syria, Cuba and Iran.

The EU established its terror checklist in 2001, following the September 11 assaults in New York.

It consists of folks, teams and entities and is reviewed no less than each six months.

ISIL (ISIS) and al-Qaeda armed teams are amongst these at present on the checklist.

Which members voted towards the decision?

Russia is the primary nation to be declared a state sponsor of terrorism by the European Parliament.

Nevertheless, members weren’t unanimous of their voting, with a bigger proportion of the right-wing bloc of the Parliament towards the affiliation of Russia with terrorism.

Twenty-six members of the far-right political group Id and Democracy voted towards designating Russia as a sponsor of terrorism.″ alt=”INTERACTIVE- European Parliament vote on labelling Russia terrorist state” data-recalc-dims=”1″/>

Here’s a breakdown of votes by nation, house nation social gathering, and member:

These French politicians who voted towards the decision are all members of the Nationwide Rally or Rassemblement Nationwide, which is led by Marine Le Pen.

  • Mathilde Androuët
  • Jordan Bardella
  • Aurélia Beigneux
  • Dominique Bilde
  • Annika Bruna
  • Patricia Chagnon
  • Marie Dauchy
  • Jean-Paul Garraud
  • Catherine Griset
  • Jean-François Jalkh
  • France Jamet
  • Virginie Joron
  • Jean-Lin Lacapelle
  • Gilles Lebreton
  • Thierry Mariani
  • Philippe Olivier
  • André Rougé

The next German politicians who voted towards the decision are all members of the far-right Different for Germany or Different für Deutschland social gathering (AfD).

  • Christine Anderson
  • Gunnar Beck
  • Nicolaus Fest
  • Maximilian Krah
  • Joachim Kuhs
  • Guido Reil
  • Bernhard Zimniok

Czech MEPs, who’re members of the populist Freedom and Direct Democracy social gathering, or Svoboda a přímá demokracie:

One member of the centre-right European Conservatives and Reformist Group voted towards the decision:

  • Emmanouil  Fragkos, whose social gathering in Greece is Greek Resolution, or Elliniki Lusi-Greek Resolution

Twelve members from the centre-left Progressive Alliance of the Socialists and Democrats voted towards the decision.

From Bulgaria – all with the centre-left Bulgarian Socialist Social gathering:

  • Ivo Hristov
  • Tsvetelina Penkova
  • Sergei Stanishev
  • Petar Vitanov
  • Elena Yoncheva

From Germany – all with the Social Democratic Social gathering of Germany or Sozialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands (SPD), which is the social gathering of Chancellor Olaf Scholz:

  • Joachim Schuster
  • Dietmar Köster

From Italy – these three politicians belong to Partito Democratico or the Democratic Social gathering:

  • Pietro Bartolo
  • Andrea Cozzolino
  • Massimiliano Smeriglio

From Slovakia:

  • Monika Beňová (SMER-Sociálna demokracia, or Route – Slovak Social Democracy)
  • Robert Hajšel (Impartial)

Ten members of the Left group within the European Parliament voted towards the decision:

From Belgium:

  • Marc Botenga (Parti du Travail de Belgique or Staff’ Social gathering of Belgium –  which is a Marxist social gathering)

From Cyprus:

  • Niyazi Kizilyürek (Progressive Social gathering of Working Individuals – Left – New Forces)

From Czech Republic:

  • Kateřina Konečná (Komunistická strana Čech a Moravy, or Communist Social gathering of Bohemia and Moravia)

From Germany (​​DIE LINKE. social gathering, or The Left social gathering):

  • Özlem Demirel
  • Martin Schirdewan

From Portugal (Partido Comunista Português, or Portuguese Communist Social gathering – a Marxist-Leninist group)

  • Sandra Pereira
  • João Pimenta Lopes

From Eire (Independents 4 Change):

From Spain:

  • Miguel Urbán Crespo (Anticapitalistas)

9 MEPs who aren’t affiliated with any political grouping additionally voted towards the decision:

  • Nicolas Bay (France – Reconquête!, or Reconquest – a nationalist social gathering)
  • Francesca Donato (Italy – now an unbiased however previously with the far-right Lega Nord, or Northern league headed by Matteo Salvini)
  • Marcel De Graaff (Netherlands – Discussion board voor Democratie, or Discussion board for Democracy, a right-wing populist social gathering)
  • Lefteris Nikolaou-Alavanos (Greece – Communist Social gathering of Greece)
  • Kostas Papadakis (Greece – Communist Social gathering of Greece)
  • Miroslav Radačovský (Slovakia – Slovak PATRIOT, which is a right-wing social gathering)
  • Milan Uhrík (Slovakia – Hnutie Republika or Republic – a far-right social gathering)
  • Martin Sonneborn (Germany – Die Partei or The Social gathering, which is a satirical social gathering)
  • Tatjana Ždanoka (Latvia – Latvijas Krievu savienība or the Latvian Russian Union, which is backed by ethnic Russians and different Russian-speaking minorities)
Editorial staff
Editorial staff
News07trends latest publishes news from the automobile, investment, real estate, technology, and related sectors. But in addition to that, we also cover lifestyle topics, like fashion, food, travel, and health. Along with all these, we also keep an eye on rising topics like cryptocurrency, startups, and venture capital.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments